Kale Salad

In the past, I haven’t been a big fan of kale. However, with my iron deficiency, the dark leafy greens like kale and spinach are the best for me. So, I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. This recipe makes a large amount so I would suggest taking it to a pot luck or making it early in the week so you can munch on it throughout the day.

I can’t take credit for it’s deliciousness though, I actually found this recipe on Pinterest. It is called My Favorite Detox Salad by Eat Yourself Skinny.

Salad Ingredients:

  • 2 cups kale
  • 2 cups brussel sprouts
  • 2 cups of broccoli
  • 2 cups of red cabbage
  • 1 cup of carrots
  • 1/2 cup of almonds
  • 1/2 cup of fresh parsley
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons of sunflower seeds

Dressing Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1/2 cup of lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger
  • 3 tsp. of dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp. honey
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

Chop all of the salad ingredient vegetables and mix into a large bowl. Chop the almonds and mix into the salad along with the sunflower seeds. Whisk the dressing ingredients together in a separate bowl (I used a mason jar for easy storage). You can either drizzle the dressing on the salad to serve right away or place in the fridge and use as needed.

Here’s the before and after from my first batch:

Leave a Reply

