One Day She Won’t.

Not again, another Monday already?! That’s typically what you’d see or something similar, on a Monday morning when you log into your social media account. Not for me, not today. Monday, I am so thankful for you today. You’ve given me that reality check of how precious motherhood really is.

My sweet girl is sick and you know what that means, she stayed home with mommy today. Seeing her cough consistently, vomit uncontrollably, and cry while feeling so yucky absolutely breaks my heart. Then, I’m reminded.

img_0659

That faint cry of “Mommy, come here” is a gentle reminder that she still needs me, when one day she won’t. Hearing her say “Will you pray for me?” is a gentle reminder that she wants to include me in things she does, when one day she won’t. The words “Will you sit here with me, Mommy?” is a gentle reminder that she wants me around, when one day she won’t.The words “Mommy, can you get me some water?” when she found herself throwing up was a gentle reminder that she still wants my help, when one day she won’t. When she’s soaking in a warm tub and says excitedly “Mommy, I tried to shave my legs and I did it!” I’m reminded that she still wants my approval, opinion, and guidance, when one day she won’t.

These little things might not seem like much to some but to me, they meant the world. My little girl admitted she wanted me today,  when one day she won’t.

Leave a Reply

